zewkey

UFC, WEC, Affliction, EliteXC and other MMA notes

UFC 74 Betting – Parlays

I think UFC 74 is a very good card to take a shot at a few parlays this weekend. Parlays are combination bets where it’s all or nothing., what I mean is that you must pick all the fights in your parlay correctly or you lose it. The more fights you have in your parlay, the higher the payoff. Parlays can be great when you win, because you make small bets to win big money. Who doesn’t like that? Currently two sites take MMA Parlays BetUs and 5Dimes.

A couple of important points about parlaying fights. First, it becomes more important to find the betting site with the best odds. Your payouts are multiplied (2.6x for 2 man, 6x for 3 man, 12x for a 4 man,) so the difference in a couple fighters listed at -120 instead of -140 can mean and additional $100 in your pocket. Here’s our Parlay Calculator to help you with payoff figures. Second, heavily favored fighters add very little value to the payout. So, lets leave them out of our parlays. The reward does not justify the risk or the anguish you will suffer after hitting 3 fights only to watch Matt Serra steal your treasure in the main event.

I like to identify a fighter, or two, that I think is a very likely winner. Remember, no big favorites, so Huerta is out. Once I have my “key” fighter(s), I try to build a few combinations. I think Kendall Grove (-240) is a sure winner and I’m making him my KEY. I also think that Joe Stevenson(-280) is a sure winner, but I like Kendall a little more.

Grove (-240) plus Joe Stevenson (-280) $10 wins $9
Grove(-240) plus Gonzaga (-120) $10 wins wins $16
Grove (-240) plus Heath (+200) $10 wins $33
Grove (-240) plus Joe Stevenson (-280) plus Gonzaga (-120) $10 wins $25
Grove (-240) plus Joe Stevenson (-280) plus Heath (+200) $10 wins $48
Joe Stevenson (-280) plus Gonzaga (-120) $10 wins $15
Joe Stevenson (-280) plus Heath (+200) $10 wins $31
Grove (-240) plus Joe Stevenson (-280) plus Gonzaga (-120) plus Heath (+200) $10 wins $96

Ok, so I need Grove and Stevenson to come thru for me.  92% of UFC favorites of +200 or more win so I look good there.  I’m counting on Gonzaga to be my money maker, I clean up if he can beat the “old man.” I think Heath has a shot at Babalu, so I put him in to leverage a few of these babees.  Good luck.

August 22, 2007 - Posted by | Betting, MMA betting, Parlay, UFC, UFC 74, UFC Betting, UFC Odds

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

